gottawonder: (Default)
Today I am grateful for:

Decent sleep.

Today was colder and snowing, but I think that's easier to deal with than freezing rain.

I did general busy things like put water in the cat tower and launder dog diapers, and feed everyone.

Then I managed to finagle the very long garrocha into my little car by having part of it stick out of a back window (safely, on the passenger side so it wouldn't be on the side facing traffic) so that I could take it to the barn to work with.

River was a bit agitated today, and actually calling for his friends when we were in the arena. He is generally not "buddy sour", and yet lately he's been a bit anxious about being alone.

R's daughter L came out and rode with us, which is good because then River was okay, but it's also nice to have someone to ride with.

I worked on elements that I hope to use in the freestyle, and then tried the garrocha. It's an interesting tool to work with. L tried it too.

My Sweetie showed up part way through, so that was nice too. I think he was pleased to see me try out the garrocha.

Then for a few minutes R and the person having a lesson tonight were in the barn as we were cleaning up, and we were all chatting and being social. That was nice.

We went home, and though it was snowing quite a lot the roads were okay.

I made supper and then we watched another episode of "Dark". I spent some time earlier today looking at a fan wiki page so that I had a better idea of who all the characters are, and how they are related (there's a LOT of characters, grouped into families, and they are all either sleeping with each other or are tied in other important ways that are hard to keep track of). It helped, though the whole concept of what the heck is happening besides "time travel" is murky.
gottawonder: (Default)
Today I am grateful for:

Okay sleep.

Making an appointment to get Dandy's front hooves x-rayed for the farrier.

I'm starting to feel like the next week or so is going to be a bit busy. Sigh.

Doing usual chores and such, then cleaned up and headed to town.

Friend D was at pottery today, and she's had a rough couple of weeks. She's trying to move from her house to her apartment, so that's a big deal of itself, but she's got a lot going on with her parents, whose health isn't great.

Two of my vases came back from being bisque fired, so I put glaze on them and now they're headed back to the kiln, though it might take awhile. The studio had some issues with a kiln so they're backed up.

For whatever reason, I felt really low energy today, but I kept going.

I shuffled my way through getting groceries, though it wasn't a huge haul today.

I am grateful to be able to get groceries.

It is very nice to have so much daylight still when I'm driving home after pottery/groceries. The hardest part of winter for me is just how dark it is all the time.

I got home and my Sweetie was outside with Roxy. He had been taking some of the stockpiled cat litter (wood pellets) to the area where we dump it (has been difficult to get out there). He also moved the garrocha down into the basement to make it possible for me to varnish it. I don't know how he got it down there.

Then we kind of half and half made supper together, and watched another fairly baffling episode of "Dark". I don't know if I can stand watching all of it if it's going to be this "mysterious" and dark colored and confusing the whole time.

I can barely even keep the characters straight because the English dubbing makes all of them sound the same.
gottawonder: (Default)
Today I am grateful for:

Sleep.

No need to rush into the day.

My Sweetie did some sanding on the garrocha pole. It's pretty smooth. Next is maybe a finer grit, then sealing.

I talked with Sister E today. She had actually made the effort to phone me a few days ago, but I was at the barn and couldn't talk, so I called her back today.

As usual, she was trying to do other things during our call, like walk the dog and talking to other people, though I sensed she was trying (?).

We did talk about things I was doing and experiencing, and that was good.

Their dog is still experiencing a lot of stomach upset. Sister E is going to aquacise classes which she says are really helping her shoulder.

Then we did chores, and headed to the barn.

It was pretty warm and nice today.

River did really well today overall. His breathing was good, though it was warmer, and he was reasonably forward while staying focused.

I enjoy days like this where he's able to focus and we can have fun.

Then we came home, my Sweetie made supper and baked his banana loaves, and we watched an older movie; "War on Everyone".
gottawonder: (Default)
Today I am grateful for:

Decent sleep, though lately it feels like I rarely get uninterrupted "whole" sleep.

When I got up, my Sweetie said we should go to the city, since Dan wasn't working today. We hadn't discussed this earlier, but okay.

I mainly wanted to go back to the fabric store to find a material to line the cape I'm making, so we did.

I did find some material that I think will look great, and also some other stuff. A yard of material to make tea towels, as it was this nice smooth cotton that I especially like for some reason.

Then we went to buy tickets for the movie (Project Hail Mary) early so that it didn't sell out before we got there (if we just got them at the door).

Then we walked around the box stores near the theater. We went into Winner's just for entertainment.

Then I went into Sephora and did find things. I haven't been there in forever.

Then we went to a Barburrito which was okay, at least it checks off the boxes. It's not as good a chain as Mucho Burrito, but it did the job.

Then we went to the theater, and we had opted for the Imax version. We hadn't been to one in years, and it seemed like a good movie to see in that format.

Our seats were way too close to the screen (only the front rows were left), and we were able to move back one row after a while, which was oddly quite a lot better for only being one row back.

The show said it started at 7pm, we sat down about a quarter to seven, and the movie didn't start until about twenty minutes after seven. So over half an hour of way too loud, choppy and annoying movie trailers and ads for other things that were driving me absolutely mad. I keep saying we need to be smarter about just sitting outside the theater and sticking our heads in to see if it's the movie yet, but we never seem to do that.

Anyhow, the movie itself was very good. Wonderful to look at, excellent effects, and though a lot of it wasn't improved for being on a bigger screen, the space shots were great at that size.

Of course the science wasn't perfect, as many will point out, but it was more of a buddy movie anyhow.

I enjoyed it, and found it to be quite immersive.
gottawonder: (Default)
Today I am grateful for:

Decent sleep.

I did usual animal care, and washed the mountain of dishes.

I did some drumming again with the metronome, and I was able to hold a rhythm for quite some time this way.

It was windy, hovering at zero, and raining most of the day. I put a blanket on Wonder though she wasn't too wet, and the ponies seemed fine without blankets.

I texted the farrier to see when she can come and trim.

Then I went to see River, going to get fuel first.

The gravel roads were sloppy and rutted, and a bit of an ordeal. The paved roads were wet but otherwise fine.

River did well with the "teacup" exercise, as well as somehow being able to do a very good turn on his hindquarters that eluded him on Wednesday when we were trying to do them in a competition class.

The young woman with health issues did come for a lesson today, and I stayed to work with one of R's horses (Maverick). L was also there working with another horse, so it was fairly social.

By then the rain had turned to snow, and R's husband K just got back from town, and said the roads had turned to a sheet of ice. He was worried about me driving home, and was almost insisting that I stay with them...?

Well, I didn't think it was THAT bad, so what I did do was to make sure my husband came to the barn after the climbing gym so that we could go home together.

That seemed to satisfy K.

Well, the snow actually seemed to improve the roads, and by the time my husband and I drove home I didn't think it was all that bad. You just can't drive like an idiot. We drove fairly slow, and gave lots of time for stops and turns etc.

My Sweetie made supper and ate with me (yay!) and we watched an episode of "Dark".
gottawonder: (Default)
Today I am grateful for:

That the first sanding of the drywall took place this morning.

As per our request, the crew didn't play loud dance music. They did choose to use loud "outdoor" voices and have an argument. I think they stand right underneath the vent to the bedroom to yell.

So I didn't sleep well.

Roxie is a smart dog. While she did get up and investigate the porch door, she didn't bark at the work crew today because she likely remembers them from last time(she did bark the first time) and that I said they were "okay". She laid back down and went back to sleep fairly quickly.

Back when we had the furnace/duct guys coming in and out of our basement unannounced for an entire winter, she got so that she didn't even get up anymore when they came to work.

I got up, did usual chores and animal care, swabbed at my body a bit, and headed to town to pick up the mail.

I would rather not spend my "free" Thursday doing this, but it seems that for now it must be so.

I got the mail, and paid the bills that were there.

Then I went to the thrift store, and enjoyed my time there. I tried to be very picky about my selections, and found a silk scarf, an actual cashmere sweater, and a cotton dress shirt, as well as a few books. I also got a sheer flowy pink skirt that looks like a dance costume, that given my hobbies might be useful one day. Or I can just prance around in it at home.

Then I consulted my Sweetie, and since I forgot carrots on Monday, went to fill in the gaps in our groceries. I got some extra veggies for him, and a few other things. Hopefully it will mean Monday's run can be a bit less huge.

There was a hilarious woman working at the till, so that was nice.

I started the day feeling tired and stricken with my usual feeling of unease that seems to be a recurring shadow, but the drive to town in the golden sunshine of early spring and managing okay with traffic and other humans eased things.

Getting the mail and paying bills without undue struggle helped.

So, I was feeling pretty relaxed and happy that I got something done without overexertion.

My Sweetie did a very nice thing for me today. I've been researching and trying to find something called a "garrocha" pole used in equestrian work. They are not common at all here, and R and I have been trying to figure out how to get one or make one.

I've asked my husband before if he could make one, and that was last year. He ended up at that time buying a pole meant for painting with a roller that extended, and while it kinda sorta worked, it lacked appeal.

Today he found a long piece of heavy closet rod made out of wood (12 feet long! The approximate length of a garrocha.) It should work!

Then we came in, and I made my own supper and he CHOSE to just eat cereal (sigh) and he opted to scroll silly videos for half an hour instead of watching a show together.

He was "too tired" and "needed to go to bed" so he didn't watch a show, but spent an equal amount of time watching short attention span videos about cats and fat mermaid dudes. Okay.

I am excited about the garrocha, though there is more work that must be done on it before it can be considered ready. It needs to be sanded and sealed in some way, and I will likely need to make a hand grip somewhere.
gottawonder: (Default)
Today I am grateful for:

Decent sleep.

The man we helped get off the highway last night came back today with a different truck and a flat deck trailer to come get his dead truck out of our yard.

It took him a LOOONG time to get the truck onto the trailer. It might have gone faster with another person.

I went outside after eating and feeding indoor animals, to see how he was doing, as well as to wish him well since he had another four hour drive back home ahead of him.

He insisted on giving me some cash, since my husband went above and beyond helping him last night. I did try to turn it down, since that's not why we help people, but I also see how he might have felt like he needed to give us some money for helping him out.

Anyhow, he got on his way, and later that night my husband texted him and made sure he got home safely.

I did normal chores and such, and checked on my drying tea pot in the studio.

I went to the barn, today we recorded two classes for an upcoming virtual show.

The first pattern went well, the second one shouldn't have given us any grief, but River "forgot" how to do a turn on his hindquarters properly. I got pretty frustrated, which is tough when you are trying to record for a show, because you can only run through a pattern so many times before both of you get burned right out, and there's only so much time in the lesson (I need R to record for us).

I COULD get my husband to record it, but the video is due soon.

My husband did show up partway through.

Anyhow, we ended up doing the second pattern just about perfectly on every other element besides the mediocre turn on hindquarters, which R adamantly asserts won't affect our score that badly, so I guess that's the recording we'll go with.

It still left me feeling overwhelmed and frustrated, as the combination of trying to be perfect, being recorded, and having time constraints often burns me out completely.

I did chat with L for a while. She was working with dogs and owners in an obedience class in the upstairs room above the barn, and came down to the barn afterwards. I showed her the cape I'm working on, and we just shot the shit for a while.

We went home, and my Sweetie made supper. We didn't watch anything tonight, as he just needed to get some sleep as early as possible since he didn't get much sleep last night.
gottawonder: (Default)
Today I am grateful for:

Okay sleep.

Getting up and doing my thing, and feeling less anxious.

I did do more cleaning. Dog diaper laundry, dog blanket laundry. I swept and washed the floor in both the small porch and the mud room, which is quite a job.

Then I tried to do some kind of cleaning of the big desk where our computer, and everything else we own lives. It gets stacked with papers and books and odds and ends, and then it gets dusty, and you have to take everything out of the cubbies and off of the surface to try to clean it.

I got everything off and did the dusting, now I have to go through everything I took off and decide what goes back, and what goes somewhere else or gets tossed.

Our whole house needs cleaning. Sigh.

Then I did the usual chores, and headed to the barn.

River did well today, though started off very sluggish. It was warm today, about 10 C, and I think he was hoping he could nap.

It was nice to work with him in such pleasant weather.

On the drive home, I saw a truck stopped on the highway near our place. It was oddly not even really pulled over, just sort of stopped in the lane, and the truck didn't have it's four ways on.

I pulled over ahead of him and asked if he was okay, and he said he had someone coming to get him but it would take them four hours to get there, and he said something about needing to leave his truck there on the side of the road for a day or two.

He wasn't being very smart about being safe, as he was leaving his door open and just walking around, not seeming to check for traffic (there wasn't a lot, but you still look).

I told him that my husband was likely at home, and if wanted, we could likely at least tow him somewhere safer.

So I did.

Then I moved my car so that I was parked behind him so that I could put my four way flashers on, and protect him from oncoming traffic because he didn't seem to have working flashers, though he did pull out some kind of light for the roof of his truck. It was getting dark enough that if he just stayed where he was, barely pulled over, he would probably get struck by another vehicle.

My husband showed up right away, this guy was less than a mile from our house.

It was decided that we would take him to our yard, and my husband decided to drive him to a town where he could at least sit in a restaurant and wait for his ride instead of sitting on the side of the road for four hours.

So, now we have this guy's truck in our yard, and his nephew is supposed to be coming to get it with a flat deck trailer at some point.

Well, we'll see. If we have to, we can get Tim to take it to his mechanic's shop, and it can sit in his yard if it takes longer than a couple of days.

I thought this guy was odd, to not even be trying to call a tow truck to just go back the way he came, to just get back to town and maybe get a hotel until morning to see what the truck needed, or something. He just got back from vacation in Mexico, and was driving home, but didn't have the money to get a tow truck?

My husband didn't get home until nearly ten, meaning he's not getting much sleep tonight.

I did make him something to eat first.
gottawonder: (Default)
Today I am grateful for:

Good sleep.

Heading to town after usual chores and such.

I first went to H&R Block to finish my tax return, which required my signature. Done.

Then I went to pottery, and the vase I sent to glaze firing last week is back, and it's a very rustic look. I like it.

I didn't have time to throw anything, but someone who was retiring from pottery was giving away a box of tools for people to take what they wanted. I took several, so that I could have tools that I could leave at the studio in town instead of having to take my tote with me every week. I used to leave it at the studio, but now that we have ours at home, I bring it home. If I have a few tools at the studio, I won't have to do that.

I felt that the cat urn was dry enough to put on the cart to be bisque fired.

Then I went to a phone repair place to see what could be done about my charging port. The person there said it likely needs to be replaced, but he was closing soon so I would have to go back another time and allow more time. He said 90 minutes.

He did have a charging cable there to test my phone's ability to charge, and that cable actually seemed to do a decent job of charging it. I bought one that was the same, and when I plugged everything in, my phone seemed to be charging.

This last two weeks or so, my phone was only charging if I wiggled it and had it sitting JUST so. I wasn't sure if it was the phone or if it was the cables. This person today seemed to think it was the phone, but he does have a vested interest in suggesting it's the phone.

Well, we'll see how it goes.

Then I went to get groceries. I got a few things for the food bank, spices (which I never seem to see in the donation bin, always the cheapest pasta and sauce) as well as peanut butter and jam so that someone could have them together.

I do tend to buy something to donate most of the time, and if anything, it makes me more grateful to be able to buy groceries since I get to choose what we eat.

I am grateful to be able to buy groceries.

I came home right as my Sweetie came home too, so he was able to help with groceries, which is always appreciated.

I did put Dandy in with Wonder, after all her hay is cleaned up so that Dandy isn't getting more than he needs.

He seemed to be moving okay. I won't ask him to trot when I'm leading him, I will wait until he offers it.

Then we came in, I did dishes and made supper.

We watched an episode of "Dark", which is sure sticking to the heavy, super creepy vibe, but at least the story is forming up.
gottawonder: (Default)
Today I am grateful for:

Sleeping somewhat through Dan and my Sweetie sanding the floor in the bedroom to be. It led to some very strange dreams indeed.

Very strange.

At some point I got up from my half hallucination half sleep state, and after eating and feeding indoor critters I went to look at the floor.

It looks great, nice and clean and smooth. It still needs a fine sanding, which will likely happen next weekend, but it's looking great.

My Sweetie and I chatted with Dan for a while, as he and his wife are looking at acreages. We shared some of our experiences and wisdom, for what's it's worth.

My Sweetie also did some wiring up in the little room, so that the mud/tape guys have light in there.

Then I did outside chores, and headed to the barn. My Sweetie stayed home to fix the porch light switch. It's a "remote light switch", which isn't wired into the house as my husband said that for the time being, he can't find a way to get a wire into that part of the house, so this is a battery operated switch that turns the light on and off in that room. They just burn out after several years and need replacing.

River was good, and we did good work today overall, though he is forever weird about doing a side pass correctly.

We did some good work with the things I want in our freestyle.

It was also only -2C today, which was pretty nice, especially combined with some sunshine.

When I came home, I looked at Dandy to see how he's doing today, and he seems to be moving around fairly well. I did cut back on their feed, though I would have thought I wasn't over feeding them, I must have been.

Yes, he's cresty when you actually examine his neck under his very heavy mane, and a bit heavy, but it's so tough with a pony to keep them trim. They don't get enough exercise in the winter, and you feel like you have to feed them enough to stay warm when it's -25 C. This is a very hard balancing act.

Then I came in, and my Sweetie was just finishing up on the light switch.

I made his "salads" for the week, and when he got out of the tub he made supper, and we watched the first episode of "Dark", which is one of those very convoluted shows that I'm not sure I'll get into or not, but we'll give it a shot.

I would like more seasons of "Dark Horses" though. It was very interesting.
gottawonder: (Default)
Today I am grateful for:

My Sweetie got up to go to town, though it meant I just didn't sleep. There were just too many "things" going on today in the house and I can't sleep knowing that my husband is heading out, and Dan is on the way, and so on.

It sucks.

I often feel like in order to have things progress on the house, I just have to live with the lack of sleep.

Anyhow, my husband did go to the pottery studio, and no one showed up. It's not his fault, though it didn't help that he waited a long time to actually commit to doing it, and took his sweet time getting his outline to the person organizing it, and so on.

He did stay and condition some old clay of ours that I was soaking.

Then he did drop off the truck load of things we were happy to move along to the ReStore (I'm happy that I made that suggesting so that he didn't waste a trip to town).

Then he went to H&R Block to look at the tax paperwork, only to discover that they didn't include the tax deductions from our contributions to RRSPs. I mean, that information shows up when you look people up on Revenue Canada...? We even TOLD them we made contributions.

So I guess now we have to get a form from the bank, but I don't know why we didn't get one already? We made the contribution in January.

Dan did show up at 1pm, just like we agreed, and started working on the floor. He will have to come back tomorrow morning. Sigh.

We need to figure out now what we will use to seal the floor. Dan is suggesting this wax/oil based sealant, and I guess he's used it before. I need to research this, as I have concerns about what would happen if you want to sand it again later, etc.

Then we went to the city. We tried to pick up the mail, but the post office is closed Saturdays. Sigh.

We went to a costume store to see if they had a cape similar to a bullfighter's cape that I might use in my Liberty Freestyle. They did, but only as a rental (three days and too much money).

I almost laughed at the "spanish bolero" you could rent. It was not very well made by cutting down a men's formal jacket with some bad trim added to it. You could rent it for three days for SIXTY DOLLARS.

I had hoped to buy a cape, but instead they had patterns. I'm not much of a seamstress, but maybe I could manage a simple cape.

Then we went to a fabric store, and I bought some very cheap red fabric to make a first attempt, maybe more (there's lots of it) and some nice red satin if I feel confident enough to cut it. I bought some nice gold trim for adding to a vest or a jacket.

We then went to a thrift store and found a plain black vest that will look "Spanish" if I add the gold trim and maybe change the buttons. I can wear it over a white shirt, add a black ribbon tie, and off we go.

Then we ate at one of last "usual" vegan places, and I was happy to be there. They did a good job on the Brussels sprouts.

Then we came home, and watched "Deadpool vs. Wolverine" which is mindless tripe for the most part, but fun to watch.
gottawonder: (Default)
Today I am grateful for:

Getting decent sleep.

Feeling my daytime anxiety fairly strongly today, but felt a lot better when I went to the barn. Working with River really helps.

I did do a bit of drumming before I went outside, and that helped too. I saw a video about drumming with a metronome, and I haven't thought of that before. It helps a lot to keep you on track. I don't have "natural rhythm" but this is supposed to help develop it.

Our neighbor's dog came into our yard today. He's not doing anything bad, but he doesn't belong here. I know he mainly wants to play with Roxy (I think he's bored), but dogs belong at home.

It's annoying that he won't even let me catch him, I have to just yell at him to go home until his owner realizes that he's gone, and shocks him a few times (though I can hear it going off and the dog seems to ignore it).

I saw R at the barn, so that was nice.

River did well today, worked on our Freestyle elements mostly.

Then I came home, and my Sweetie pulled in the same time.

So I guess he's going to go to town tomorrow and be at the pottery studio when he said he would have the workshop, and if no one shows up, then he'll just leave.

To make the trip at least somewhat worthwhile, he'll go to H&R Block to sign paperwork, and try to drop off a bunch of stuff at the local ReStore, some furniture we don't need.

So tonight we moved some of that upstairs so it's easier to get at tomorrow.

Also, Dan is coming tomorrow afternoon to start sanding the floor in the unfinished bedroom in the addition.

I made supper for myself, and we watched the last two episodes of "Slow Horses", which finished the season.
gottawonder: (Default)
Today I am grateful for:

That the drywall work began today.

It began early, and VERY LOUDLY. The two fellows (I thought there was only supposed to be one?) came, and made a very loud entrance, talking loudly and stomping around.

Then they went downstairs and proceeded to crank their dance music to the point where it would have been loud if I had been playing it upstairs.

Since all of this has been my husband's thing, and he apparently never got a direct phone number to these fellows, and I was still in bed trying to sleep, I called my husband and asked him to call Dan (who arranged for these two) and then Dan could call his subcontractors and tell them to shut the heck up.

Yes, that's how stupid this is. I had asked my husband a few days ago if he had the number of the mud/tape guy, and my husband said no, all of this goes through Dan.

So, if everyone is going to be like that, I will make all of them call each other like the ridiculous creatures that they are, so that it is up to THEM to deal with the noise.

It did settle down shortly after, but I didn't fall back asleep.

Then I got a dumb phone call from H&R Block, as they wanted to know if my husband and I are married or common law. I asked the person if there was no record anywhere in their files, as we have literally filed our taxed with them for...15 years? Then she asked if we had any children or dependents. Same thing...no, we don't have children and are truly unlikely to have any.

So that was ridiculous.

Then when I got up, I spoke with D from pottery. Since every last person who was involved in organizing my husband's upcoming workshop fumbled the whole thing to the point where we didn't even know if he was supposed to be doing it or not, no one has signed up. The poster only got put up a few days ago and the workshop is supposed to be this Saturday.

Most of the workshops has an entire month of lead time, with advertising on the Facebook page, the poster in the studio, and emails.

So, we will now look like idiots, for all the effort we've put in trying to do these workshops, thanks to every last person involved not doing their job.

So that's basically all happening within an hour or so of me getting up. Just one stupid thing after another.

So I did normal chores, felt my usual horrible guilt at Dandy being sore (though walking, carefully), and didn't get much done today because I was exhausted and angry at everyone and everything.

I did go out into the pottery studio to try to do something to make my day feel worth doing, and my husband came out there when he got home.

I made supper, though it's frustrating that half the time my husband seems to want me to make two suppers, like he doesn't want the same thing or ....?

Tonight I was cooking, and he was like "do you want me to just make my own food, the frozen veggie/egg thing?"

Why? What would be wrong with just eating the food that I am right in the middle of cooking, and obviously making enough for both of us? This makes me feel the same way as when he just eats something on the way home from work instead of coming home for supper, only he doesn't tell me, so I'm often cooking supper for both of us when he walks in and says he ate in town.

It's rude.

He ate what I cooked, and actually seemed happy enough to eat it, and why not? It was perfectly fine.

We watched an episode of "Slow Horses", and after he went to bed I went back out to the pottery studio.

I have no idea when the mud/tape guys are coming back to sand, and neither does my husband. Apparently one morning they will just show up.
gottawonder: (Default)
Today I am grateful for:

Good sleep. The kitties allowed me to get enough.

Did normal animal feeding and such.

I spoke with Sister E briefly, and once again felt like I was inconveniencing her or something by calling; she's always in the middle of something, her phone is always "dying", and she struggles to get the phone connected properly to her hearing aids.

Yet, once we got going, she was happy enough to talk about how things were going with their dog who has been having issues, and so on.

So, what I asked her today was something I've been wondering about...if she would ever bother to call me. I think I have been the one to phone her pretty much every time I have ever talked with her. I literally cannot recall a time where she called me first.

My Mom was the same way. Sometimes happy to hear from me, sometimes didn't sound like she wanted to talk, but rarely if ever bothered to call me. I felt at the time it was because she just had no idea when was a good time to call since "young people" are always doing things, but I wonder.

Anyhow, I asked Sister E if she would call ME next time, and her response was "I have no idea if I will...I'm always so busy, things just happen, the day gets away on me, I have no idea when to call you". So I gave her a rough idea of the best time to call me.

You know what? She can do what the rest of us do, call, and if it isn't a good time figure out when a good time might be.

So there you go. This last month has felt like I'm just being severed from my family. It's the strangest feeling. I am tired of running after them though.

Then I went to the riding barn. I talked with R for a while; the two young male cats (the ones who have been kittens all winter) got neutered last week, but both of them are running into problems with infections. I'm really wondering about the vet who did the surgery; infection isn't that common in a routine neuter surgery, and BOTH of these cats have had pretty bad infections at the surgery site. It doesn't seem right.

She has had them looked at and treated and cleaned out and antibiotics, so hopefully they'll be okay.

The woman who was going to have a lesson after my ride time couldn't come because their pipes burst. She's had a rough go of things lately.

So River and I did our thing, and I worked more on ideas for our freestyle, and I feel like I'm finally getting somewhere. It's hard to do something new and appropriately challenging that isn't repetitive.

I did put a few "new" songs on the playlist, so that's fun.

My Sweetie stopped in on his way home from work and stayed until we finished.

Then we went home, I did dishes and he made me supper (he grabbed some fast food because he forgot part of his lunch and was too hungry to wait).

Then we watched another episode of "Slow Horses".

Later I watched "Stoker", a very creepy yet excellent modern Gothic horror.
gottawonder: (Default)
Today I am grateful for:

Some sleep.

Still feeling anxious for Dandy.

Headed to town after usual chores to "do pottery", though more and more my time in town is just running errands since I "don't work" and have all this free time.

I paid our current owing taxes at the bank.

Then I went to H&R Block to start the process of MORE TAXES.

Then I got to go to pottery, for the scant hour or so that I had before I had to be out of the studio.

I brought the urn R wanted me to make for Earl, when the inevitable happens. It needs to be bisque fired then glazed, and I didn't want to wait until we were doing that in our kiln at home. As I examined it, it looks like it still needs another week to finish drying, as the bottom is still damp.

I glazed a vase, and put it on the cart (hope for the best).

I put two dry vases on the cart to be bisqued.

I was miffed to see that someone didn't bother to clean up the sink, or around their wheel. I am fairly sure I know who it is. The same person generally doesn't clean up after herself well, and because I am generally the last person out of the studio, I end up tidying up after her.

Then I got groceries. Not a huge trip this time, but I am still shocked at what the total came to. We don't eat particularly fancy food, no meat, and it's just EXPENSIVE. I worry about what all the new wars are going to do to the food prices. I remember a long, long time ago, when I spent about $50 a week on groceries, and ate well.

I am very grateful to be able to buy groceries.

I came home and my Sweetie got there the same time and helped bring everything in.

Then I made supper, and we started the third season of "Slow Horses".
gottawonder: (Default)
Today I am grateful for:

Some sleep, though it was a bit fitful.

After eating we did a bit of house tidying. I got my Sweetie to help with the cat litter, and then I did sweeping/vacuuming. He did the dishes. I did some laundry.

I addressed two more of the "it can sit there for now" fabric shopping bags that he's left strewn around. One had his lunch box and some clothes in it, all of which have a place to be put away, so I just did while he looked on.

The other bag contained things for his bikes, which should be in the garage, not sitting on the counter in the mud room, where it's been for a while now. I directly asked him if it had somewhere to go, and he replied "not really". I said "you have big new bins that you bought to organize your bike stuff, can they go there?" he said "I can't get to those bins right now" (the implication of course being that the goat pens make his life impossible to organize).

I challenged that notion by leading him to the garage, and found that it was, in fact, quite easy to get to the bin that contained his bike things, so he pouted heavily, went back to the house, and brought the bag full of items out to the garage where they belonged.

It was literally more work for me to make him put away one bag of stuff than it would have been just to take it out there myself, but there are principles at play here.

If I hadn't done this, that bag would have sat there for at least three more months, and he might never have bothered to take all of it out of the house, he might have only taken whatever he needed in the moment, and left the rest sitting there. He does this with just about everything he owns. Just leaves it right there because "I'll use it at some point, no point in putting it away". Even when we BOUGHT BINS for his bike stuff.

Sigh.

Well, at least it didn't cause another fight.

At every stage, I spoke to him reasonably.

In and around all the household chores, he baked his mini banana bread loaves for his lunches.

Then we headed to the riding barn. It was just a little above freezing, and very nice outside today.

River did well in our work, though already he is a bit warm when we work.

I worked on something I might use in a freestyle, and he did really well with it today. We also practiced a pattern.

Then we came home, ate supper, and had enough time to watch "Deadpool". The first one is my favorite, the others seem watered down and sanitized.
gottawonder: (Default)
Today I am grateful for:

Decent sleep.

My Sweetie and Dan got more work done upstairs, getting all of the drywall put up. Now both the basement and the small room upstairs are ready for the expert mud and tape guy to come. My Sweetie thinks it will be very soon, as soon as he's free.

Then I got up and ate (he made me breakfast), and we chatted.

Then we did chores and gathered up everything that needed to go to the dump. Some of it was small pieces of drywall out of the basement that was no use for future projects, miscellaneous crap from the basement, household garbage, some twine from the barn, and the recycling.

Then we took it to the dump.

We headed home again and we trimmed Brownie's feet (goat), as well as spent some time walking Dandy around to see how he's doing. He seemed to be moving okay, and even volunteered to trot and did some prancing around. I put him in with Wonder, and they ran around together.

Hmmm.

Then we got cleaned up to go to see a live band at the local cool theater.

It was very full when we got there, a sold out show with free seating. This venue has just these round tables that seat four or five people, and when you come to something like this, people kind of have to share their table with strangers.

We thought we were early enough to get a table closer to the band, but ended up being at the very back of the room, which made me feel kind of "away from the action" even though the sound was good.

We did share our table with two strangers, though we talked with them for quite a while before the band played (doors opened at 7, band played at 8).

There was a very good opening band, and the main attraction was very good too, but their songs kind of all sounded the same. They were a sort of upbeat smooth blues band but every song had the same tempo and the same vocal range and so on. It was odd.

Overall good, and after some prompting I did get my Sweetie to dance a little bit for the last two songs. He doesn't like dancing, and isn't good at it, and I LOVE dancing, but I'm not going to go up there and dance by myself, or sort of try to barge in with other people who were dancing.

Then we came home and it was raining, but it might freeze later.

We put Dandy back with his people, and my Sweetie headed to bed.
gottawonder: (Default)
Today I am grateful for:

Some sleep, though worried about Dandy.

I got up in reasonable time.

Friend D called. She was very frustrated about a person from pottery who was supposed to be doing some helpful organizing for our weekend workshops, but really isn't very competent. She stayed on that topic a long time. I felt like this would happen, as I've had experience with that person before. She means well, but doesn't follow through.

Then we talked about D moving, and her feeling very burned out about packing. I hate moving. I totally get it. I offered to help pack up the kitchen when she's ready, and gave specific days that I could help so that she knows I'm not making a vague statement.

Then did the necessary chores and home stuff, then headed to town.

My main objective was to pick up the medication for Dandy, and I'm glad it came in today.

I did some other things while in town, to try to make it feel worthwhile even though I was in yesterday.

I got a few groceries. Not much.

I did go to Winner's to see if a cute pair of pants was still there from when I saw them a few weeks ago. They were, and I tried them on and liked them. It felt like a deliberate decision.

I feel like the quality of many things is lower in Winner's these days. The shoes mostly look cheap, the scarves look cheap, and they have less "nice" makeup and perfume. I still find okay clothes, but some of the other stuff is less appealing these days.

Then I went to the bulk food store and got a few things, was mainly there for this one particular kind of bar shampoo for my Sweetie.

Then I headed home, spent only about half and hour there, then headed to the riding barn.

It was an absolutely gorgeous day here weather-wise.

River was in a good mood, though a bit sleepy.

We worked on our pattern and usual work, and he did well.

Then I stayed to work with Ferrari during the young woman with health issues' lesson. She has missed the last three weeks, so it was nice to see her today. R and I did our best to ask her how her vacation went.

It was fun working with Ferrari, as he is a very forward and sensitive horse.

R and I talked for quite a while after cleaning up, about food and health stuff (their family made a LOT of dietary changes in the last year or so, similar to how I eat in some ways, mostly cutting out sugar and processed food).

R is worried about her dad, who is about 80 now, and in reasonably good health, but starting to have some issues with motor skills and just becoming more frail.

Then I headed home. I made my own supper as my Sweetie ate in town (he stayed in to go to the climbing gym).

We watched the season finale for "Slow Horses". This season overall didn't make as much sense to me as season one, though it was still good. It's more about the characters than the plot.
gottawonder: (Default)
Today I am grateful for:

Having the means to keep getting the vet to look at our animals when they need it.

Last evening when I brought Dandy from Wonder's pen to his own pen, I felt like he was walking a bit off. When I did last chores, he was indeed sore in his feet.

Well, that means making an appointment first thing this morning (extra fees for same day).

I am glad the vet could come. Yes, he's having a laminitic event. The weather, and the simple fact that he is a pony (prone to being overweight and insulin resistant) has triggered inflammation that makes the hooves painful.

The vet did not have the medication he needed on the truck, and neither did the vet clinic in town, so they're ordering it.

That means he gets to be in pain overnight, until I can get to town to pick up the medication.

The vet also wanted to draw blood again to check for insulin resistance, but duh. Upselling.

I still had other things I needed to do today, and reluctantly went about doing them, feeling upset about Dandy the whole time.

I had my therapy appointment today, and I didn't want to miss it. Today I felt more sure of my goals, which were to get to the point where TW was simply not an issue for me anymore, and to halt the relaying of messages for her with other family.

I had some other longer term goals too, mainly to sort out what parts of me are just the results of trauma, and what I can do about that.

I was surprised that I still had so much to say about the same things this week, but I felt a bit less emotional. I guess I'm getting better at talking about feelings and thoughts that I don't usually say out loud to anyone besides my husband.

Then I needed to go to the farm supply store for animal bedding pellets that I use as cat litter, bird seed, and a new winter farm coat (on sale!).

Then I needed to pay my speeding ticket. Sigh.

Then I stuck my head into the quilting shop to see if they had anything suited to a Spanish style cape, but it's all cotton quilting material. Not that surprising. It is the only fabric store in town though, so I will need to look in the city for satin or something similar.

Then I decided to just go home.

I was exhausted from lack of sleep (worrying about Dandy), but I still couldn't nap.

My Sweetie got home, we talked (things are very strenuous at work for him, trying to sort out six month's worth of messed up paperwork to do with contracts).

We went downstairs and spent an hour moving things out of the way so that the drywall mud/tape person can get to everything, and to keep things out of the dust that's coming.

Then we ate and watched another episode of "Slow Horses". We both get the gist of what's happening, but have no idea which Russian spy is which, because there are too many of them and the names are confusing.
gottawonder: (Default)
Today I am grateful for:

Good sleep. I got up a little earlier today than I have been, on my own (no alarm).

Again, how nice it is when the cats aren't screaming for me to wake up.

I did feel my anxiety today, at the usual time, though I am just starting to accept that this anxiety doesn't MEAN anything, and that I don't have to DO anything about it.

I did feel a bit bummed again that my decision to distance from TW might mean I have very little contact with anyone in my family, as it seems that at one time we all called each other to talk about how Mom was doing, then how TW was doing, and now it seems that it is not enough to talk with each other about our lives.

I did so some drumming, which was nice, and some stretching, also nice. Not a bad way to start the day.

Then I did chores, and Brownie is still bleeding a bit. Sigh. She seems otherwise fine.

I did put Dandy in with Wonder today, and they seemed pretty happy to see each other.

Then I went to the small town nearby for fuel, then onward to the barn for our lesson.

I'm happy that the scrape on River's leg doesn't seem to be bothering him. It will take some time for that to heal up, as it's kind of a large area abraded enough to take the hair off and scab over. I sure hope the hair comes back on it.

Our lesson went well today. We went over some basics, then ran through the four pylon pattern, and then I showed her something I've been working on a bit, to make sure I'm not going to mess up some other aspect of our training, then did some work on a different pattern that R is thinking of using as a class in a show.

My Sweetie showed up part way through, which is nice, and R's husband K also sat in. It's nice and social.

As we were finishing up and putting things away, R's daughter L came into the barn and we all chatted some more.

Then we went home, and supper was easy tonight as we had soup and leftovers in the fridge. My Sweetie cooked eggs for himself, since I think he needs more protein.

Then we watched another episode of "Slow Horses", though I'm getting a bit lost because there are too many Russian characters in this season and I can't keep the names straight.

It's interesting that this show is perfectly willing to kill off characters, that does lend a sense of investment. I've watched too many shows where the characters get into absolutely ridiculous amounts of danger but you're never actually worried for them because you know they won't kill anyone off.
Page generated Mar. 25th, 2026 09:12 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios